Thread: Eastman MD 305 Upgrades?

Default Eastman MD 305 Upgrades?

Hello all, new to the forum and this is my first post here.

I've been playing for about 2 years now and I currently own an Eastman MD 305 that's about 3 years old. I've had this mandolin for a year now and have been really happy with its playability and sound.

However, I was curious about whether an upgraded bridge, tailpiece or maybe adding a pickguard would be worth it. I got the MD 305 for an absolute steal ($375 barely used), so I wouldn't mind spending a little to spruce it up.

I was wondering if anyone with experience upgrading parts on this model has any advice or recommendations? Would an upgraded bridge make any meaningful difference?

Any input is greatly appreciated!

-Jeff

Default Re: Eastman MD 305 Upgrades?

tonewise imo I don't think it would make a meaningful difference

Upgrade to a higher caliber instrument. Keep the 305 for a beater. Then do like so many do and buy every good deal that comes your way.

Have you invested in a good setup? Does the current bridge fit well? Some people report that their mandolins sound better after fitting a Cumberland Acoustic bridge. Others report no changes. It's highly unlikely that anything is going to dramatically change the sound of your mandolin if there is nothing wrong with it now (for example, the bridge is poorly fit to the top, leaving lots of daylight). If your think you are pushing the limits of your mandolin's tone after two years, the best thing to do would be to save for a new instrument if you can.

Oh, and welcome to the Cafe.

Blog Entries

As others have said, other than a good set up, the only thing that may upgrade the instrument is the bridge. You may also consider switching up strings and picks to see what sounds the best on there. Upgrading the tailpiece may just make string changes easier (some claim a heavier tailpiece increases sustain but, I don't believe there's tons of data to back that up).