Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: How to practice Circle of 5ths

Default How to practice Circle of 5ths

Hello everyone,

I am a novice, having only played around a year or so. I was taking lessons but once COVID hit I had to stop. My instructor mentioned learning the circle of 5ths. I am curious what you all did to learn the circle of 5ths and what i should do for practice.

Default Re: How to practice Circle of 5ths

The circle of fifths will give you the order of sharps and flats in the different keys. Portions of it are played as chord progressions, particularly in jazz and ragtime and occasionally in other styles. It is something you have to memorize. It can be a useful tool. It is more a piece of theory that has a lot of applications than something you practice. There are youtube videos and internet sites which will explain it if you do a google search. Having your instructor go over it would be better. It is not really the thing I would focus on for a beginner though.

3. The following members say thank you to CarlM for this post:

The chart, easily findable with Google, shows the relationship between chords. There are several online sources to explain the info represented by that chart.

You don't need to learn all of the nuances to get a lot of value in having an easy way to determine the chords that belong to each key.
    Not all the clams are at the beach

Arrow Manouche
    Arrow Jazzbo
    Arrow G
    Clark 2 point
    Gibson F5L
    Gibson A-4
    Ratliff CountryBoy A

1. Starting on open G, play G-A-B-C-D-C-B-A-G. (Using your pinky for the D is a good idea.)
    2. Now, "moving up a fourth", starting on the C you just played, play C-D-E-F-G-F-E-D-C. (Using the open D makes more sense here.)
    3. Same deal, start on the F, play F-G-A-Bb-C-Bb-A-G-F.
    4. Keeping moving up, play Bb-C-D-Eb-F etc.
    5. Keeping moving up, play Eb-F-G-Ab-Bb.
    6. Ok, now drop back down to the first fret on the G-string (Ab), and just keep going like this.