Thread: Mandolin & vocal with Capo & Harmonicas?

Default Mandolin & vocal with Capo & Harmonicas?

First a little History!
    I'm a 68 year old musician who performs at local Open Mics. and Senior Centers. I'm not a blue grass picker and never will be. What I do, is sing Irish and folk tunes with mandolin accompaniment while I work percussion instruments with my feet. Of all the Open Mics. I've ever performed at it mostly performers with a guitar in their hands singing Denver and Lightfoot tunes, but when I show up with a mandolin it gets their attention because I'm doing something different!
    I presently use a capo up to the 5th fret because some of my tunes are difficult for my voice in a lower register. Please don't tell me to learn cords up the fret board. It's too late for that, and I'm happy with what I'm doing!

I've recently purchased a set of harmonicas in the keys of A, C, D, & G to add another voice in my tunes. They allow me to add interesting interludes between some of the verses. The problem I'm encountering is which key harmonica to use at each capo location. So far by trial and error I think I have discovered the following.
    Open........................G Harmonica
    Capo @1st fret...........?
    2nd................A
    3rd................ ?
    4th.................?
    5th.................C
    I've been trying each harmonica on every tune (time consuming) and it's become clear that I'll need to invest in other key Harps, but hopefully you folks can help me fill in the above question marks and save me some time.
    Thank you for reading this!
    Ron

Default Re: Mandolin & vocal with Capo & Harmonicas?

Open... G (straight) or C (cross harp)
    Fret 1...Ab (straight) or Db/C# (cross harp)
    Fret 2...A (straight) or D (cross harp)
    Fret 3...Bb (straight) or Eb (cross harp)
    Fret 4...B (straight) or E (cross harp)
    Fret 5...C (straight) or F (cross harp)

Quote Originally Posted by NDO View Post