Thread: Loar 500, 600, 700s peoples!

Default Loar 500, 600, 700s peoples!

Greetings,

Mando newbie here bigtime, question...

Is it true that the scale length of the LM-500 & LM-590 is 13-3/4" but the scale of the
    310F is 13 - 29/32"...as is the LM-600 & LM-700? Or am I just reading it incorrectly?

TIA!

Default Re: Loar 500, 600, 700s peoples!

Well that settles that!

Honestly, I don’t know, but I think maybe your lack of response might be because most of us wouldn't really stress that much over a 5/32” difference in scale length. For me it certainly wouldn’t even be a consideration with so many other more important factors in instrument selection. Materials workmanship build quality fit and finish tone quality...now, if it were a 13” scale length (like many bowl backs) or 14 1/12” scale length (like a relatively few Gibsons), that would be enough difference to be worth giving consideration.

Additional: I just checked the specs and you are correct. You are not reading it incorrectly. I would assume since the more advanced models have the slightly longer scale length, that must be more desirable.
    Don

2016 Weber Custom Bitterroot F
    2011 Weber Bitterroot A
    1974 Martin Style A

Hi Don,

Thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it for sure. I was more curious about the lower end 310 having the same scale length as the 600 & 700, but they skipped over the 520 for that. It seems peculiar. I am coming from trying to learn on an old Martin A and and yes the scale is tight. Not for nothing but I just played a 310 & 520 today and actually preferred the laminate 310. The neck was more comfortable & I thought it sounded better. I am certainly NOT claiming it's because of the longer scale length. As you say, so many factors involved, set up, room you're in, strings, etc etc.

Thanks again.