Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thumb wear on the neck

Default Thumb wear on the neck

Hi friends,

I have been playing my MT for about 9 years, and over time have developed this wear spot on the back of the neck from my thumb (I have played it a LOT). Has this happened to others? I'm wondering if there is something I need to change about my grip. Or, some day I may just get a speed neck.

Thanks!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	neckspot.jpg 
Views:	114 
Size:	62.5 KB 
ID:	193746
    Follow the Flatt Stanley Incident on Facebook

Listen to original tune "When You Fly" by my old band The Kindreds

Default Re: Thumb wear on the neck

Here's mine, you don't have much to worry about. I played it a lot and it shows.

Name:	DSC00002 (2).JPG 
Views:	150 
Size:	112.1 KB 
ID:	193748
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

3. The following members say thank you to pops1 for this post:

Wow... that's all from play wear? Most impressive! Thanks
    Follow the Flatt Stanley Incident on Facebook

Listen to original tune "When You Fly" by my old band The Kindreds

Blog Entries

Consider that wear spot a badge of honor. Speed neck done the old fashioned way, below. This is my 20 year old Nugget.

Name:  nugget.jpg
Views: 928
Size:  95.2 KB

6. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Mandolin Cafe For This Useful Post:

I have the same or worse wear on a few instruments. Most of mine are speed necked now.

Registered User Sherry Cadenhead's Avatar

Speed neck? Will I play faster when I wear down my Weber's neck to look like you guys' necks?

Quote Originally Posted by Sherry Cadenhead View Post
    Speed neck? Will I play faster when I wear down my Weber's neck to look like you guys' necks?
    Hopefully so Sherry, after thousands of hours of playing you should be playing faster.

Quote Originally Posted by Mandolin Cafe View Post
    Consider that wear spot a badge of honor. Speed neck done the old fashioned way, below. This is my 20 year old Nugget.