Thread: Siminoff neck joint snafu

Default Siminoff neck joint snafu

Greetings from Montana. I'm building my first (and likely only) F5 style mandolin. I have some experience from building a baritone ukulele and other woodworking projects like boats and furniture.

I am using the 2nd edition Siminoff book for instruction and using his V/pinned neck joint. Just now I discovered I have a theoretical issue with the neck and neckblock geometry. I started the build with the neck and soon realized Siminoff only provides instruction for his V joint (cut with his jig) and the traditional dovetail joint. I decided to cut the V mortise in the headblock by hand as I didn't want to spend hours making that jig for only one mandolin. Jumping in with both feet and being somewhat ignorant about terminology, I fashioned the neck as shown on his drawing. Now I realize that the drawing combines elements from both the V and dovetail joints. If I had understood the terminology better at the time, I may have understood distinctions he was making in the neck geometry.

So I have a neck with a 6 degree angle cut into the end (as shown on his drawing) and a headblock that is cut perpendicular to the flat horizontal axis. In theory, there doesn't seem there should be a problem. But I don't know.

Can I glue it up as I have it or should I shim the bottom of neck heel out by 6 degrees and cut the headblock face 6 degrees from vertical? That seems counterintuitive.

These are a lot of words to describe something seemingly simple. I appreciate you taking the time to read and understand what I'm trying to say. Feel free to ask for clarification.

Gary Davis

Default Re: Siminoff neck joint snafu

Quote Originally Posted by GaryDavis View Post
    ...These are a lot of words to describe something seemingly simple...
    True, that.