Thread: Binding has cracks when mounted

Default Binding has cracks when mounted

About 90% of the time, I get a really good joint when I glue up my binding. This time I used black ABS for my binding. While level sanding, the dust seeped into the cracks and is a bear to get out. With a tooth brush and compressed air I'm able to get most all dust out. With a fine paint brush, and left over lacquor , I fill the cracks, then sand smooth again with fine sand paper. It's not so much of a problem showing with light color binding and it's my first time with black. I'm wondering if down the road the cracks might show up again. Next time I'll fill in before I level sand when using dark binding.. Keith
    kterry

Teacher, repair person

Default Re: Binding has cracks when mounted

You might want to consider using celluloid rather than ABS the next time.
    Yes, there's that durn hazmat fee to pay, but it will bond much better to wood, and the labor time you save will pay for the extra shipping charges.
    Available from Axiom Inc. www.axinc.net. Buy in bulk-- the hazmat fee is the same whether you buy 1 piece or 100.

You might try scraping the binding flush instead of sanding, and then filling any small gaps with a mixture of hot hide glue and clean wood dust (or just hide glue for very thin cracks) before doing any sanding. Lacquer isn't particularly good at filling gaps, IMO. With celluloid binding, hairline gaps between the binding and wood will magically fill if you just brush them with acetone. It swells the binding and bonds it to the wood. I do that right after binding and then let it sit for a few weeks or more to shrink back before final sanding. Having never used ABS, I'm not sure if it behaves similarly.

Said it before but worth repeating.
    ABS is great! For sewage pipe.