Thread: Why is my action so high?

Default Why is my action so high?

Hello all! I am new to the mandolin and recently bought a secondhand Ashbury AM-50. I changed the strings as they were quite corroded, but the action seems really high at the 12th fret. I'm not sure what is considered normal, but coming from guitar it doesn't seem right. I've set the bridge as low as possible, but reluctant to mess with the truss rod.

Here are some pictures:

https://imgur.com/a/ymE5Xwv

Blog Entries

Default Re: Why is my action so high?

To me it looks like your neck is straight from the photos-you need to sand your bridge base down more-you have the room by the looks of your bridge-thats what I would do-if your not handy find a shop that knows mandolins!

The truss rod does not directly affect the string height, but rather sets the neck relief (the amount of bow in the neck to allow the strings to vibrate without hitting the fretboard), so no need to try adjusting that until you have tried bridge height adjustments. By the looks of the bridge in your pictures it is already adjusted to its lowest height on the adjusting wheels, so sanding the foot of the bridge might be a possible solution. If you are doing this you need to avoid rocking the bridge as you sand - keep the bridge foot as even as you can.
    From one of the photos I am wondering if the top has developed a slight dip just above the soundhole? If this has happened then your string height would be affected and be higher than it should be.
    I'm playing all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order. - Eric Morecambe

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheOldBores