Thread: OM closed position fingering and pinky and FFCP

Smile OM closed position fingering and pinky and FFCP

Hi,

I don't have an OM (yet). I've been experimenting on my GDAE tuned baritone uke (19.5" scale length) trying to decide if I want to get an OM or tenor guitar. Or just keep the baritone uke.

I was gettin' on with "guitar" fingering, one finger per fret, with occasional pinky stretch. It was easier than I thought, but I do still get it mixed up with mandolin fingering. So then I started learning about "closed position" and I tried it on my baritone uke. I can't get the 4th with the pinky without "shifting" my whole hand up. Which is hard to do that if I need to go back down to get the 5th with the first finger. I found it very difficult. so I was googling about this and I didn't find much. So I'm curious do people play CBOM like this? I was also reading about FFCP and didn't find much discussion about it in this forum.

If I try mandolin fingering, I can do it on the two high strings if I don't keep fingers down, but I can't do it at all on the two low strings.

How is everyone playing up the neck?

Also, a FFCP question: Why the 4 patterns? Why not just start with the index on the root?

Blog Entries

Default Re: OM closed position fingering and pinky and FFCP

Regarding FFcP on a regular mandolin - I find that four patterns reduces the amount of shifting I have to do. For example, if the melody moves up into the second octave, I just use the FFcP for the way the finger the first octave ends on. Less shifting.

I think I understand your predicament, an octave mandolin has been a mystery to me. Playing it one finger one fret, like a guitar, a hand span is about a forth, while the next strings is a fifth. So I have to shift more than I want. (Which is why guitars are tuned in fourths I imagine.) While playing it like a mandolin is really an uncomfortable stretch.