Thread: Custom Design Picks (Ultem)

Default Custom Design Picks (Ultem)

Hi all,

I know of a few custom pick makers out there, but I'm looking specifically for ones that would be open/able to doing a one off production of a Ranieri style pick made from ultex/ultem.

Normally I would make weird experiments like this myself, but I've recently moved to an apartment that doesn't offer much in the way of ventilation or workspace area. In addition, I know ultem sheets have grown pretty expensive and I'd like to avoid shelling out the cash for a whole sheet for one or two picks.

Thanks!

Default Re: Custom Design Picks (Ultem)

Have you asked Nik at Apollo Picks? The black material he's using for his new Mike Marshall pick is a high grade of Ultem.

I hadn't actually thought to. I didn't realize the Mike Marshall pick was PEI/ultem until just now.

D'Addario offers custom picks in both single and multi-color options. I have no experience with many of their pick materials so I have no idea of one of them would be a suitable replacement for Ultem/Ultex.

https://www.daddario.com/products/ac.../custom-picks/

I made my own Roman/Ranieri plectra from a small sheet of ultem. I don't know what it cost these days but I got a 12X12 of 1/16" for about $25 and 1/8" for a but more. The problem I have seen is that I can't seem to find thin enough pieces these days. The sheets seem to come no thinner than 1/4".

It was not hard to make the plectra especially with the thinner material. I used a Dremel tool, some sandpaper and a set of nail boards I got from CVS. I made one for a friend and I think he still uses it. Here's one:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ultem_ranieri_roman_pic.jpg 
Views:	39 
Size:	7.9 KB 
ID:	196701
    Last edited by Jim Garber; Oct-07-2021 at 11:05am.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately: