Thread: High Action Help!

Default High Action Help!

Hi everyone

I'm pretty new to the mandolin, I've been playing my ortega rma5na for about 4 months now but I'm concerned my action is too high. I've been playing guitar and banjo for twenty years and have experience with stringed instruments but I've never experienced action this high before, is it normal to feel such difficulty in playing due to action when your used to playing other stringed instruments.

I absolutely love the mandolin and I play it every day but I feel completely restricted by the amount of pressure i have to apply to play at speed or double stops and chords

I know this is pretty inexpensive mandolin but I can't afford a new one for a good while and I feel a bit stuck.

Any advice on what might help or whether this is a natural and common issue when a proficent guitar player switches to mandolin?

Id really appreciate any help or tips.

Thanks
    Chris

Default Action issues

Hi everyone

I'm pretty new to the mandolin, I've been playing my ortega rma5na for about 4 months now but I'm concerned my action is too high. I've been playing guitar and banjo for twenty years and have experience with stringed instruments but I've never experienced action this high before, is it normal to feel such difficulty in playing due to action when your used to playing other stringed instruments.

I absolutely love the mandolin and I play it every day but I feel completely restricted by the amount of pressure i have to apply to play at speed or double stops and chords

I know this is pretty inexpensive mandolin but I can't afford a new one for a good while and I feel a bit stuck.

Any advice on what might help or whether this is a natural and common issue when a proficent guitar player switches to mandolin?

Thanks
    Chris

Default Re: Action issues

Perfect timing since Rob Medrum’s excellent free e-book thread on how to set up your mandolin is just a few posts down: