Thread: Gibson, Tonk & Kalamazoo

Default Gibson, Tonk & Kalamazoo

I'm a newbie at the Mandolin Cafe; however, fate provided me with a new, old mandolin that was somewhat of a mystery until I believe my research resolved the matter. It all began when a good friend gave me a banged-up, A-style mandolin that to my old eyes looked like a Gibson. I scoured the net for days and nights trying to find a matching mandolin, but to no avail. My new/old mandolin was solid and it's playability and tone was far better than any of my other mandolins.

Another friend asked me if I had ever seen a book written by Paul Fox called "The Other Brands of Gibson. I hadn't, so I purchased a digital copy and began reading and looking at every image. I learned that Gibson once sold a few different styled guitars and one specific model of mandolin to the Tonk Bros. organization in Chicago between 1934-35 era. Mr. Fox even included a photo from a Tonk catalog of the singular-model mandolin that Gibson sold to Tonk. That mandolin had the Tonk moniker of "Fascinator" printed on its headstock. It was a perfect likeness of my new-old mandolin except for one important detail -- there was a difference between the mother-of-pearl dot patterns on the fretboard. The catalog image fretboard had only three dots while my mandolin had the same three dots plus two horizontal dots on the 12th fret. All of the Gibson mandolins I found that had two parallel dots on the 12th fret had an additional dot father below on the fretboard. So, it was back to the drawing board of endless hours perusing Gibson mandolins for a perfect match.

I have no idea how many images of Gibson mandolins from the 1930's I examined; however, not one matched the fretboard on my "Gibson". By accident, I stumbled onto a photo of a Kalamazoo Mandolin that perfectly matched my fretboard, but it had Kalamazoo printed on it's headstock.