Thread: Any thoughts on this bowl back

Default Any thoughts on this bowl back

First post. I have been lurking for 6 months
    This mandolin is local and going to see it this weekend. Any thoughts and input about condition and price would be helpful. I’m a beginner playing a econo a silver angel. Intrigued by a bowl back Not sure how to post a link.
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/G-Puglisi-R...-127632-2357-0

Default Re: Any thoughts on this bowl back

Here's a Cafe search for threads mentioning Puglisi. Respected maker from Catania, Sicily. I would say that $400 is a high-range price for an antique bowl-back, and you definitely need to carefully inspect it and check its condition. Many old bowl-backs have been "over-strung" with modern heavier-gauge strings, which can deform the neck-body joint, or warp the neck. Bowl-backs don't have neck truss rods to correct warpage, and their neck joints aren't as sturdy as later instruments. Look for cracks, possible sinkage of the top, warped neck, mis-angled neck joint. Small separations between ribs of the bowl aren't good, but generally aren't serious impairments. Check the tuners as well.

This could be a good mandolin -- not what I'd call a "bargain," but if in good playable shape, within market pricing. Let us know what you decide.
    Allen Hopkins
    Gibsn: '54 F5 3pt F2 A-N Custm K1 m'cello
    Natl Triolian Dobro mando
    Victoria b-back Merrill alumnm b-back
    H-O mandolinetto
    Stradolin Vega banjolin
    Sobell'dola Washburn b-back'dola
    Eastmn: 615'dola 805 m'cello
    Flatiron 3K OM

Thank you for the response. The listing has make an offer available. It’s at a local pawn shop

Full Grown and Cussin' brunello97's Avatar

How does a Puglisi bowlback find its way to San Diego? Makes you want to think it was via a sailor.

Everything Allen says is right on. The strings on there now are likely too heavy and you and / or the owner need to take the tension off them pronto.