Thread: Old vs New Kentucky KM-150

Default Old vs New Kentucky KM-150

Hi guys,

I am new to mandolin and know there are a ton of threads pertaining to KM-150 but I couldn’t find one that addressed the question I have.

I hear a lot of people say that KM-150s are great for beginners but to stray away from the older ones since Kentucky apparently made a lot of improvements to these things since 2012.

Would one older than this like a 2009, Made in China, be a bad purchase. Is the quality really that bad. Does anyone know the differences between these older models and the newer ones? Thanks!

Default Re: Old vs New Kentucky KM-150

In the late 1980s, I bought a Kentucky A with F-holes - most likely Korean built and pressed top- in a pawn shop for $45. It had a 12-fret neck join and weak volume, but I got it set up to play acceptably. It served me well enough until I got more serious about playing mandolin circa 2000, although an instrument dealer did comment at one time that he felt sorry for me if that was the only mandolin I owned. I wound up selling it for a net of about $150 at that time. I strongly considered a contemporary Kentucky A during that portion of my mandolin journey and remember that the models at that time sounded a lot better than my Korean model, having carved tops and a 14 fret join.

Every once in a while, I'll pick up a starter mandolin when I'm cruising in an instrument store and I'm considerably impressed by the quality of Kentucky, Eastman, and The Loar models, compared to the Harmony that I started on in the '70s and the Kentucky I owned in the 80s. I think it is hard to go wrong with any of these if you can buy local and get a good set up at your local (not big box) music store.

Thanks John for the input.

Has anyone one here compared a pre-2012 model with a more current one? I’m curious to see if there are any differences