Thread: Cloth for varnish

Default Cloth for varnish

Hello all. I'm a full on novice to finishes, and was wondering what type of cloth to use for applying a varnish? Are there any brands you all trust? Thank you for your time.

Default Re: Cloth for varnish

What kind of "varnish" are you referring to. If it's a standard type oil based varnish, you don't use a cloth. You use a brush or spray it.

I'm using an oil based polyurethane dilution on bamboo. I've read best application is by cloth.

I like the Trimaco Wonder Rags.

Finishes such as Tru-oil, and probably other oil based ones can be applied with paper shop towels.(typically the blue ones)

I use white cloths, any without lint. Old Tube socks, baby diapers, t shirts, even some paper shop towels, to start with. As I build a finish I move to softer materials. I tend to finish with the process I used to spit shine my boots in the Marine Corp. The only real difference is letting things dry between. Boots I could do in a short amount of time all at once then touch up a day later but wood I tend to give time between coats. I'm no pro and I have never er sprayed on a finish. Only brushes and cloths.
    My avatar is of my OldWave Oval A

Creativity is just doing something wierd and finding out others like it.

Quote Originally Posted by John Bertotti View Post
    I tend to finish with the process I used to spit shine my boots in the Marine Corp. The only real difference is letting things dry between. Boots I could do in a short amount of time all at once then touch up a day later but wood I tend to give time between coats. I'm no pro and I have never er sprayed on a finish. Only brushes and cloths.
    So, what's your spit-shine process?