Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What style am I hearing in my head?

Default What style am I hearing in my head?

I'm a beginner, just learning and relearning. I'm interested in playing songs with tremolo and thinking of music like Jacques Brel's "Marieke" and a sound I associate with French films... what genre is this, and where should I go to study the relevant technique? Thanks in advance...

Default Re: What style am I hearing in my head?

Modern chanson? This is a popular style among accordionists - Edith Piaf songs are standard, for example. I like to play them on accordéon diatonique. Because it typically involves lush chordal accompaniment and polyphonic treatment, accordion is well suited to the style. For mandolins in this style, you might need multiple players to achieve the polyphony.

3. The following members say thank you to catmandu2 for this post:

Yes, this is the style I'm thinking of. For some reason I hear mandolin playing along. Thanks for responding.

Welcome to mandolin CAFE, the thing to do is introduce your self first (we are a friendly lot), and then ask you a question giving as much information as possible to help others who may not know what you're talking about.
    Is this the video you have in mind?

https://youtu.be/jalwU5D8Kag

(this is of course the Internet, and with your first couple of posts people will not know you. This could be spam or some sort of political message you are trying to project, we don't know)
    Welcome!!

6. The following members say thank you to Simon DS for this post: