Thread: Jade mandolin with a strangely shaped top

Default Jade mandolin with a strangely shaped top

Hey guys!

I have a Jade mandolin, had it for a couple of years now and very pleased with it. Quite a while ago I noticed that it had a very strangely curved top (see picture below). I didn’t really think about it too much, but now finally decided to ask, just out of curiosity.

So as you can see, the top is sort of S-shaped, with a kind of belly towards the tailpiece and a hollow towards the start of the neck. As a result, the bridge is not really perpendicular to the strings.

Do you have any idea why this might be? I kind of doubt this happened after the mandolin was build, because it would surely affect the bracing underneath the top (I’m not an expert and also not a native speaker so forgive me if I mess up the terminology here), so the curving must have been made while the mandolin was being built, right? If that’s the case, was it a mistake of some sort or was it all intentional? As I understand it, these mandolins were made by Bob McRee, who’s no longer with us, so I’m left to wonder about all this.

The mandolin itself has quite a mid-rich tone, not as high-inclined as other F-style mandolins, as I understand (Living in Russia, I don’t really have a lot of these around). Here's a link to a video recording, if you're interested. It's also possible that the non-perpendicular angle of the bridge affects the volume somehow, but again, I cannot really compare it to anything here.

Would love to hear what you guys think!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1237.jpg 
Views:	406 
Size:	309.2 KB 
ID:	198654

Default Re: Jade mandolin with a strangely shaped top

Can you describe the bracing design? Typically either "parallel" tone bar bracing or "x-brace" tone bar. And you have determined that they are still attached to the top?

Quote Originally Posted by jurasicus View Post
    Hey guys!