Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Player at age 63

Default New Player at age 63

Good Morning and Thanks for acceptance to The Mandolin Cafe. At age 63 I play guitar a bit but am new to mandolin. My main question is in regard to purchasing my first mandolin. I have larger than average hands/fingers and am wondering if, being new, would I notice the difference between the standard 1 1/8 and a wide neck 1 3/16 necks.Obviously there is a much wider selection in the 1 1/8 nut width but since I am just beginning to look I might as well try to get it right. Also,i am currently looking at the Northfield Calhoun Wide Neck and Big Muddy but am totally ignorant of the differences in the Eastman,The Loar, and Kentucky brands. I will be playing mostly Traditional,Celtic,and Alt-Country styles of music if that matters. Thanks In Advance for any help,Mike S

Default Re: New Player at age 63

Hi Mike. I'm 73 and have been playing guitar for 50-some years, and mandolin for about 10. Here's my advice, and of course, others may feel differently: