Thread: A string breaking...often

Default A string breaking...often

I'm new to tenors -- new to guitar in general -- and I'm running into trouble with the A-string breaking. It's been four in under three weeks.

I'm playing a Martin tenor from the mid-1970s tuned CGDA. It's 23" nut to bridge, and it has 20 frets. I've been using 09 gauge strings, mostly Ernie Ball (because that's what my local store carries).

The first one broke at the tuning peg. The next three have been at the bridge or, possibly in one case, nearer to the sound hole.

I'd be grateful for any advice about what to do. Is it possible the bridge needs to be cleaned or lubricated? If so, what would I tell my local guys who are friendly and seem good but who have little specific experience with tenors. Am I using the wrong strings? Would that be wrong gauge or wrong brand?

I hope I'm not repeating an earlier discussion. I've seen some forums touching on similar topics, but I couldn't find anything that was an exact fit.

Guernsey... small island just off the coast of France

Default Re: A string breaking...often

Yep a very common problem with the A string on 23” tenors, the easy way out is to change the tuning from CGDA to GDAE.
    You would require new strings 12p 20w 30w 45w but you can persevere with the high A by first checking the bridge and nut are correctly sized, smooth and clean.
    It is quite possible to get a .9 or .10 up to pitch but it will always be the weak link as the tension required will put the string near the breaking limit!

3. The following members say thank you to fox for this post:

Joe K 

Thank you, Fox. very much. I'd like to keep it CGDA if I can, but maybe GDAE is the way to go if all else fails.

If I go with a .10 gauge, will that give me a little more strength without sacrificing the same note? And/or are there different manufacturers/models of string that might hold up better than the Ball?

Quote Originally Posted by Joe K View Post