Thread: Struggling with left hand

Default Struggling with left hand

Hi Guys
    I'm pretty new to the Mandolin so realise that practice will help but I'm struggling with my left hand positioning. Firstly holding the mandolin is causing soreness in my joint above my index finger but I'm also struggling to reach even some of the 3 finger chords, let alone 4 finger chords. I'd say that my fingers are average size for a 6 foot bloke. I'm not at all despondent but could do with some reassurance that it will get better with practice.
    Cheers
    Martin

Default Re: Struggling with left hand

Hello Martin,

With left hand issues, it's best have your left hand address the fingerboard at an angle, much like a violinist does at a 45 or 50 degree (or more) angle. Quite unlike a guitarist that mainly addresses at a 90 degree angle. That's all I have for now.

Len B.
    Clearwater, FL

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lenf12 For This Useful Post:

Welcome to the Cafe, Martin. And, welcome to your journey with the mandolin. It sounds like you need to work on your posture - not just sitting with the mandolin but, also, how you hold it. I started out learning from Mike Marshall's lessons on ArtistWorks. The great thing about Mike's teaching is that he starts at the very beginning with how to hold the mandolin. There are other mandolin resources and lessons on-line that will help you. I'm sure they will be mentioned in this thread. If you can get in-person with an instructor, that would be a big plus. I highly recommend that you work on this now while the mandolin is still new to you so you can learn to enjoy practicing and playing.