Thread: Scrap Yard Challenge

Adrian Minarovic

Default Scrap Yard Challenge

I've been toying with this idea for quite a few years but only now I finally got the main ingredient - stainless spring steel shim stock.

Some theory:
    WHen you bend wood across heated iron the inside of the wood surface gets compressed and outside stretched. Since inside gets hotter sooner than outside the compression dominates and wood can be bent. But once you bend wood with funky figure which makes the outside surface less resistant to stretching or bend to tight radii then the outside will start tearing apart (lifts) or you will get kinks. Thin steel strap helps keep the wood pressed against the iron and keep the bending forces more even with less kinks (but one needs to pull VERY tightly the strap) but it will not prevent the tearing completely with highly figured woods. Lots of experience and patience is required to get some odd pieces bent into tight radii. Sometimes the only help is some extra thinnng of the rib stock so it can bend easier.
    For bending thick wood beams workers use steam bending. Wood is first steamed in steam chambers and then bent against forms using bending strap that is RIGIDLY FIXED to the wood at both ends. This takes all the stretching forces from wood to the strap and wood is subjected to compression only - which it can take a lot in the freshly steamed state.

Some history: