Thread: New Guy Looking For Recommendations

Default New Guy Looking For Recommendations

Aloha Y'All!
    I'm sure this question has been posted a thousand times, but please allow me to ask it again. I am a professional musician, (vocalist, guitarist, ukulele player, lap steel guitarist and violinist) who is looking to add mandolin to my arsenal. I'm looking for recommendations for a first time mandolin purchase, but with an eye towards something that down the line, can be gigged with. I'm open to mandolins with built in pickups, or not, as I'm cool with after market installation. I'd like to keep it reasonable in price, but don't let that deter your recommendations.
    Thank you in advance for any thoughts and/or suggestions.

Tiki Dave

Teacher, repair person

Default Re: New Guy Looking For Recommendations

I had an older Eastman 505 go through my hands that was good enough to gig with. I wish I had kept it for just that reason. Current price for a used one would be around $600. They go for $850 new if you can find one. Mine was good enough for stage use [after a little set up work], and cheap enough so it wouldn't have hurt too much if it had gotten knocked over or stolen on a job.

Another possibility might be the right old oval hole Gibson-- they tend to be more mic friendly than most f-hole mandolins. You're talking more money though, $1200 - $1500 and up depending on the model and condition. And most of them are friendlier to play if you install a set of modern frets.

The best mic-ing mandolin I ever had was a Lyon & Healy style B, but I didn't like to take it on tight stages, crowded venues, or hot outdoor gigs.

3. The following members say thank you to rcc56 for this post: