Thread: New to Mandolin...What next?

Shawn Brentham

Default New to Mandolin...What next?

I love this sight, and am looking for some advice, for where to go next in my training. I am new to the Playing the mandolin although I am a life long fan of the instrument. I am an average rhythm guitar player, and have decided to really spend the next few years focusing on the Mandolin. I have no asperations of playin in a band but love to go to Jams and pick and sing. I would hope to be able to play Mandolin well enough to feel confident enough to play rhythm and add few solos now and then. I really love all types of music, bluegrass, folk, Traditional, and blues.

I am currently practicing out of three books- "Mandolin for Beginners" from Alfred by Jim Dalton, "Modes on Mandolin" By Todd Collins, and "Standard Notation for the Tab-Addicted Mandolinist" by Debora Chen. Both "Modes on Mandolin" and "Standard Notation" have tons to work on, which I am going through slowly and meticulously, and I consider them supplemental compared to "Mandolin for Beginners" which I consider my main practice book.

So finally here is my question: I am coming to the end of "Mandolin for Beginners" and am looking for my next main resource for Mandolin Education. I am a public teacher and not sure I can afford full time lessons at this point so really looking for a book or video series which could help.

Thanks for any help you can send my way!

Default Re: New to Mandolin...What next?

I'm a beginner, coming from guitar, and has been doing the Artistworks video series with Sierra Hull the last 6 months. It's broken down in small, incremental steps that build on each other. I'm progressing and enjoying it a lot. Sierra has a lot of enthusiasm and it flows nicely. And you can send in videos for her to evaluate and send a video back with her critique. Mike Marshall is also on Artistworks.com too. Very affordable for what you get and they seem to almost always be having a promotion or discount.