Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello! I am new and in need of some bowlback advice

Default Hello! I am new and in need of some bowlback advice

Hello! I’m a high school student, and have been playing the violin for around 7 years now. I depart for college in a year and a half, and I plan on taking up 2 to 3 non-music majors. However, I want to continue playing music, even outside of an orchestra. To this end, I figured that picking up another instrument could be a good move to help stoke that love of music. I decided on the mandolin, specifically the bowlback for its use in classical and Celtic music, my forte (and also how I got my username!) I also really like its general aesthetic (DnD players know what I’m talking about lol bards ftw). As a teenager, I do not have many funds, especially while renting a violin. and, while I would like to upgrade in the future, at the moment I am just looking for an instrument on which I can mess around a bit, with sound quality being a relatively low priority. I’m also of the opinion that the player matters more than their tools in producing a good sound. All of this being said, are 1970s Suzuki bowlbacks any good? I’ve come across a couple of really affordable ones on eBay:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/35424618582...et_ver=artemis

https://www.ebay.com/itm/32531210821...temCondition=4

https://www.ebay.com/itm/23465691289...temCondition=4

Also, does anybody know what the design on the pickguard of the first is? It looks vaguely humanoid to me, but I cannot tell.

Thank you for taking the time to read my ramble and I cannot wait to join this community of musicians!

Default Re: Hello! I am new and in need of some bowlback advice.

Also, does anybody know what the design on the pickguard of the first is?
    It appears to be a stylized female possibly dancing.
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

Or flying.