Thread: Yet another Kentucky KM-1050 vs KM-1500 thread?!

Question Yet another Kentucky KM-1050 vs KM-1500 thread?!

Hey Folks,

I've been lurking around here for a couple years and while I don't really want my first post to be yet another "Kentucky Mando 1 vs. Kentucky Mando 2" thread, I've run into a question for which I couldn't find an answer in an existing post.

For a little context, I've been playing guitar and bass of varying styles for almost 20 years now. I bought my first mandolin during lockdown (a Loar LM700-VS) because I wanted to try getting another string instrument to the mix. Unsurprisingly, I've caught the mando bug and have already attended a couple of workshops and bought a second Mandolin (an Eastman MD805/v). The Eastman is a fine instrument and I find it much easier to play than the Loar, but it's not really the feel or sound I'm looking for right now.

I have an opportunity to trade the Eastman toward either a Kentucky KM-1050 or a Kentucky KM-1500. From the videos and posts I've seen about both instruments, I think the sound/tone and the fittings for both of the instruments are going to suit my needs and allow me to grow for a while. However, I'm having difficulty finding information that compares the feel of the neck and fretboard of the two instruments.

I find the flat fingerboard of my Loar very difficult to play compared to the radiused Eastman, so the fact that both Kentucky's have a radiused sounds like a benefit for me. I also like the sound of "taller" frets on the 1050. However, the price of the 1500 isn't that much more of a stretch from the 1050 (at least for the two I'm looking at), so if the better instrument is a good fit for these long, guitar-playing fingers, I wouldn't mind moving to the nicer mandolin as my main driver. Well, at least until I can justify moving up to one of those wide-nut Northfields.