Thread: How is Tuning Drift with Rubner Tuning Machine

Question How is Tuning Drift with Rubner Tuning Machine

I’ve got stock Grover’s on a Weber Yellowstone. They turn without much effort. The mando just had a full setup, including nut slot adjustments. I’ve read a bunch and seen people saying their mandos stay in tune and then for others that they drift constantly. I always tune UP to pitch. I am new to mandos but am a life long guitarist. Guitars with very good tuners are easy to tune and stay in decent tune from day to day. Can mandos not do this? For those of you who have changed tuning machines, especially to Rubner’s, has your instrument’s pitch become more stable or is it just mainly ease of turning them that is bettered? I have always been an in tune freak on guitar. My luthier said that having doubled strings increases the awareness that a mando is not in tune because the two strings beating against not only the other strings, but each other. This makes complete sense to me. But since I am, unfortunately, so sensitive to pitch variations I thought I’d ask. He does not believe changing the tuners to Rubners would be worth it. And while I am happy to NOT spend the money, nonetheless, I am here hoping to get a better result from my instrument. The strings are J74. As a side question, do Tomastik flatwounds stay in tune better?

Default Re: How is Tuning Drift with Rubner Tuning Machines

Mandolins are more susceptible to atmospheric changes than guitars, or at least it seems that way to me. I fully expect to retune frequently, which has nothing to do with the tuners.
    Not all the clams are at the beach

Arrow Manouche
    Arrow Jazzbo
    Arrow G
    Clark 2 point
    Gibson F5L
    Gibson A-4
    Ratliff CountryBoy A

3. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Bill McCall For This Useful Post:

Adrian Minarovic

Also mandolins have strings in pairs which makes any out-of-tuneness of one string stand out.