Thread: 1917 Gibson A2 mandolin original tuning mechines gear slop

Question 1917 Gibson A2 mandolin original tuning mechines gear slop

Mando fans - They are the original plank-style tuners, four to a plank.. How do I best restore good tuning key shaft with gear fit?. Can a good machinist restore the fit? I do not want to fit this instrument with replacement tuning machines. Any suggestions out there from the forum readers? I am a retired pro guitar player, but have played this instrument for 46 years and a lot more recently. Thank you.

Default Re: 1917 Gibson A2 mandolin original tuning mechines gear slop

Welcome to the forum.

See here - http://www.lutherie.net/tuner.maintenance.html or fit a set of StewMac Golden Age “Restoration” tuners. The “relic” versions don’t look that bad. They are possibly the only practical solution for sloppy tuners.

3. The following members say thank you to Ray(T) for this post:

First, even a very good machinist won’t necessarily be able to scope out this without considerable additional information, some of which relates to the mandolin itself. If the problem is on most of the strings, or all, you need to measure where the slop is: actual wear of the spur gear or worm teeth, wear in the plate, wear in the lugs, wear in the peghead wood. A luthier with vintage experience might be able to define a fix that could help a machinist, whether that’s replacing parts or altering what’s there, but by then you’re down to a very small crowd. What I’m saying is that there are more causes than gear wear, and there’s no original blueprint to help.
    Personally, I’d put up with the wear, always tune up to the note, and make sure there’s no string binding at the nut, which also causes apparent play.

The Stewmac restoration tuners that will fit your mandolin mentioned by Ray(T) can be found here. I'd replace them and keep the originals in the event that you ever sell it. You can include them in the sale and you have an instrument you can tune.