Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How often should my mandolin need to be tuned?

Default How often should my mandolin need to be tuned?

I'm new to mandolin. All I'm familiar with is my banjo and I hardly ever need to retune it.
    It seems my mandolin needs to be retuned almost every time I pick it up to play. Not much but it goes just a little flat. Is that normal for mandolin? Is it just something I need to get used to? I should mention that it has waverly tuners.

Default Re: How often should my mandolin need to be tuned?

It’s normal to check the tuning each time you pick it up to play. Whether or how well it stays in tune varies from one instrument to another, varies with weather changes and with several other variables. Just make a habit of tuning every time you play and it’ll become quick and easy.
    A couple years in, now, and still learning!
    Ratliff F-style Country Boy
    Eastman MDO-305 Octave Mandolin
    Kentucky KM-272

I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Kenny For This Useful Post:

small instrument, big fun Dan in NH's Avatar

Every time you pick it up. And if you've played more than 3 tunes, or have been noodling for more than 10 minutes, check the tuning.

I keep a clip on microtuner on my headstock, and never take it off.

Mandolin players spend half their time tuning, and the other half playing out of tune.
    Eastman MD-514 (F body, Sitka & maple, oval hole)
    Klos Carbon Fiber (on order)

And still saving my nickels & dimes & bottle caps & breakfast cereal box tops for my lifetime mandolin.

5. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Dan in NH For This Useful Post:

Mandolin is the Italian word for out of tune.
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

7. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to MikeEdgerton For This Useful Post: