Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Purchasing a good beginner mandolin in Canada

Default Purchasing a good beginner mandolin in Canada

I am on the market for a new beginner mandolin (those of you who hang out in the repairs forum may know the backstory :-)) I just started learning and I know there is a ton of "buying your first mandolin" advice. But - plot twist - I live in Canada and we are not really spoiled for choice here like those of you living down south. The choice is pretty limited, and prices can be high. The way I see it, the options are:

1. Ultracheap mandolins off Amazon (Donner seems to be the most popular brand). Those can be had for 100-150$. Those are going to be unplayable on arrival, but I'd expect that after restringing, lowering the action etc, they can be turned into a usable instrument (that's what I did with my old Rogue).
    2. "Local" entry-level brands at the local stores. There are a number of brands (Alabama, Beaver Creek etc.) that rebrand Asia-made entry-level mandolins for the Canadian market. Not sure about the quality, not much info online.
    3. Good mid-level brands, available from online stores. Ibanez, Epiphone, sometimes even Kentucky etc. Those are probably the best option in terms of quality vs price, but I hate purchasing instruments online without trying them first.
    4. The high-end stuff. Can be found, but it'd be wasted on me, and I don't have the money anyway.

Does anyone have Canada-specific suggestions about what to get (or where to look)?

Default Re: Purchasing a good beginner mandolin in Canada