Thread: Chords and Music Theory

Default Chords and Music Theory

I am an untrained newbie exploring music. My daughter, the music teacher, has been helping me, so now I am dangerous.

She told me a chord is made of a root or 1st, a third, and the fifth. Then she explained on the piano that means every other white key.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mandolin Chords.jpg 
Views:	76 
Size:	106.8 KB 
ID:	204805

I was looking at the fingering for some basic chords and got confused on the D chord. Seems to me the F# in the D major chord would make it a minor chord. The F in the D minor chord would make it a major. The E minor I think should be an E major. I hope the chart helps explain what I am nattering about.
    Last edited by neilca; Dec-14-2022 at 7:18pm. Reason: Added more info

Default Re: Chords and Music Theory

referring to the charts

the the first one D with 2002 is just notes out of order ADAF#

the second one 2001 is a Dm , notes are out of order ADAF ( F is F# flattened or lowered one half step)

the 3rd one 0220 is an Em but the notes are out of order GEBE
    EGB is Em
    E G#B is E Major.

White and black keys do not really translate to a multi string fretboard.
    1-3-5 is about intervals that create harmony when played simultaneously.

a chord without any significant description, D for example, implies a major chord that follows 1-3-5 of the major scale starting on D.

D F#A
    D to F# is 2 whole steps D-E and E-F#
    F# to A is 1/2 and 1 whole step
    F# G 1/2 step G -A is 1 whole step.
    The interval for a major triad is Root W W Third H W Fifth

a D minor is notated by a small m next to the root of the chord 1, flat 3, 5
    Dm is D F A ( relative major being Bb)
    the interval is Root whole half Third
    Third whole step whole step Fifth
    D- E 1 whole step, E -F 1 half step, F-G 1 whole step G-A 1 whole step.

on a fretted instrument going from one fret to the adjacent fret (either up or down) is a half step