Thread: Pickin' Buddies in New York City

Post Pickin' Buddies in New York City

I'm an intermediate player looking for others to form a smaller regular jam session in Manhattan or Brooklyn (okay, any of the five boroughs). I know there are plenty of established jams in the city -- they are terrific, but also rather large. You don't get a lot of breaks and it is too loud to hear. A smaller jam is better for progress and can be more fun. Looking for 2-3 others who have a decent repertoire (fiddle tunes as well as songs) and want to meet weekday evenings -- day TBD. My apartment building (downtown near City Hall) has a music room, but it's first come first serve. If you have a place we can play, could work too. If you play guitar or other BG instrument, so much the better.

About me: I have been playing mandolin for 20 years, mainly bluegrass, old-time, celtic. Memorized lots of tunes but getting into improvisation. Fan of Thile, Flinner, Marshall, Grisman -- also Nate Lee, Frank Solivan, David Benedict. Used to do the festivals a lot -- plan to again. Personally, I'm 58-yo, digital marketing exec, moved from Virginia in 2011.

Email me and we can connect by phone -- thanks!
    Michael

Default Re: Pickin' Buddies in New York City

For larger jams, here are the ones I know about or have gone to:

Sunny's Bar in Red Hook (Sundays) -- a fairly advanced jam with good players, at least a dozen at the three I went to
    The Sheriff's Jam at The Gray Mare (2nd Tuesdays) -- longest running NYC jam, also pretty advanced and large (can be more than 20)
    Liz Wolf's uptown jams (various days) -- intermediate/beginner level, also 20+ players
    Mona's Bar (Mondays) -- haven't been, but I know they have some top players, not sure how open a jam it is

If you live in NYC and want to play regularly with 1-2 others -- let's talk!
    Mike

3. The following members say thank you to Mandomike45 for this post:

Also, the Green Room Jam on 23rd Street.