Thread: Grover 409 Tuner Installation Guide for Eastman F-style Mandolin

Default Grover 409 Tuner Installation Guide for Eastman F-style Mandolin

Christmas brought this very good boy a new set of Grover 409 tuners.

I have had my 2016 Eastman 515 for over two years now and I have no major complaints about the tuners that came with them (either Schallers or Pingwells, I have never been able to figure it out). However, I wanted tuners with a higher turning ratio to make fine-tuning the instrument (especially those damn A strings) easier, and avoid the bouncing-back-and-forth-over-the-tuning each time you turn the tuner juuuust a little bit. The current tuners are approx. 1:14 or 15 ratio. The Grover 409s are 1:18.

I did as much research as I possibly could about which replacement tuners would fit the Eastman without needing to do any major drilling or surgery ("Dammit Jim! I'm a lawyer, not a luthier!"). Forum topics about replacement tuners for Eastman mandolins are fairly common, but I didn't find as many detailed posts or answers as I was hoping. A very common recommendation was Grover 309 and people seemed to be able to install those with only needed to add a couple new screw holes. Unfortunately, Grover seems to have discontinued the 309, but StewMac recently started stocking their apparent replacement, the 409. So I took the plunge, cracked out the tools, and documented the installation process with some pictures in the hopes that this will help the next person.

First, when we are talking about replacement tuners for F-style mandolins, it is critically important to correctly identify and order "worm-over" or "worm-under" tuners. Eastman F-style mandolins use WORM UNDER tuners, meaning the tuner knob shaft connects to the gear below the axle for the tuning peg that extends through the headstock (this can be seen in the pictures below). This specific model of tuner is the Grover 409FVN.