Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help identifying old mandolin

Default Help identifying old mandolin

Hi all, newbie here. Just returning to playing guitar after a long break. I'm planning on adding mandolin to my daily play, but first thing is whether or not to put a little money into this mandolin. It was my dads so even if its low end, it still means something to me. If not playable, at least a wall piece. So he played it as far back as I can remember [the 60's] and it looked old even then. The label is worn and torn, and I can't make out the letters, but the shape and style might be of some help to the mandolin expert. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	E44925D4-49E3-48A1-8F6C-7B2543DE0A9C.jpg 
Views:	327 
Size:	1.32 MB 
ID:	206159   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	41EE81A6-B7BE-4C1A-9D81-30F232810EC1.jpg 
Views:	249 
Size:	1.36 MB 
ID:	206160   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	99B3E5E0-0839-4063-A579-D0D9131ABEC9.jpg 
Views:	211 
Size:	615.0 KB 
ID:	206161  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EDC46146-0AA3-4815-BB72-2685A3BCC235.jpg 
Views:	226 
Size:	613.7 KB 
ID:	206162  

2. The following members say thank you to scrappy1 for this post:

Teacher, repair person

Default Re: Help identifying old mandolin

That is a Lyon & Healy style A.
    It was the top model of L & H's mandolin line. They were introduced in the later 1910's and made through most of the 1920's.
    They were built to be in direct competition with Gibson's mandolins, and were very well made and sound very good.
    Yours is a very early example, with a symmetrical 2 point body. Most style A's were built with an asymmetrical 2 point body.
    They are mandolins of very high quality, and are highly regarded, especially by the classical mandolin community. Many old-time players like them also.