Thread: About volumes in the mandoliini family instruments

Default About volumes in the mandoliini family instruments

Hi,

Im new here and a complete noob in the mandolin world. Actually, I have'nt even started yet. But I have been playing guitar, and especially classical guitar, for a long time and recently started to play in a trio with a flautist and a pianist. Classical guitar with piano can be a bit tricky because both instruments work similarly but obviously piano is much louder.

I have also wanted to take on a new instrument but with something that isnt completely out of my comfort zone. I also really like folk music so in the past couple of weeks I have really thought about buying a mandolin. I recon I Will get a mandolin regardless at some point but my question that I right now have in my mind is this:

How loud are the instruments in mandolin family? Especially the mandola and the mandocello? For the Trio I have thought that with a mandola I could play the second melody as the flute would be the first, and similarly with the mandocello I could play the cello lines. Of course you can play anything with anything but the amount of music written originally for eg. Piano, violin and Viola or piano, violin and cello is a lot.

With classical guitar I can play second melody and/or accompany but the volume has to be taken in account for the piano then. My intuition regardin the mandolin family is that because they have double coarses and the strings are metal they would have more projection and clarity for the melody (or celloish bass lines) than nylon string guitar but I havnt really found an answer to this question, even with some "clever" googleing.

One other problem is that I liven in finland and I havnt found a mandocello here anywhere that I might test to hear the volume myself.

So Im asking a bit beforehand here if it would lead me quicker to a suitable instrument of the mandolin family.

2. The following members say thank you to Tintin for this post: