Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Picking the right mandolin

Default Picking the right mandolin

Hey y’all. I’m a long time guitarist and finally got around to trying mandolin and joining the forum. I bought a cheap A style just to make sure I’d like it. I feel like I will want to upgrade relatively quickly but I am now puzzling over all the various sizes and styles. A mandola might be a little more comfortable size but then there’s having to re learn cords and scales. An octave mando is the same tuning but, never having tried one, would the stretches you have to do playing scales be difficult for shorter fingers? Also, I play a variety of genres, not just bluegrass so, is it best to stick with the A style? Then there’s the choice of oval sound hole or f holes. Obviously this is just a hobby for me so i most likely won’t be taking it on stage. I know the choice is ultimately personal and it would be ideal to find a shop that has different Mandolins to try but any advice could be helpful.

small instrument, big fun Dan in NH's Avatar

Default Re: Picking the right mandolin

Some people say that they can hear a difference between an A body and an F body. Good for them, I can't. And I've never met anyone whose opinion I trusted who said they could, either.

But F body mandolins will run you $200+ more just for all the extra shaping, forming, & fitting that goes into them. And they just look so COOL. I 100% bought my Eastman 514 F body mandolin because it looked way cooler than the same manufacturer's 504 A body mandolin. Total "Shut up and take my money."

Oval hole mandolins tend to be warmer. F hole mandolins tend to be brighter, and project their sound better. That's why they're the choice for bluegrass, where the mandolin player has to stand between a fiddle player and a banjo player and struggle to be heard.