Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eastman 615: too much mandolin for a beginner?

I'm looking at buying my first (left-handed) mandolin.
    I've been playing guitar for 40 years, and for the last 6 have been focusing on fingerpicking.

I've been enamored with the mandolin sound, and love how it fits in with other instruments (esp. guitar), thus my desire to get one and learn how to play. I still believe, though, that guitar would be my primary instrument, and I don't know at this point how deeply I will get into the mandolin.

I've been reading a lot about mandolins (what a great site this is), and learned a lot about the various brands in the low to medium price range. I do like quality instruments - my primary guitar is a Martin OM28V.

I don't want to go too cheap, as that would probably hinder my learning the instrument. I don't like the look of the Mid-Mos; I haven't heard good things about the MK lefties (righty nut??); the Kentucy 250S @$250 looks interesting, but I would then have to pay for a conversion to lefty; and I LOVE the look of the scroll.

I have a contact that could get me a lefty Eastman MD615 at a really good price, but that is still a few hundred dollars over what I anticipated spending (although I can afford it). I also just found out that Eastman has discontinued all lefties in the 500 series.

So, is the MD615 too much for a mando-newby to start with, considering all this, or should I just take the plunge?

Thanks for reading and I look forward to your responses.

LeftFrank
    Eastman MD615 Lefty

Frank,