Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tuning a mandola to gdae like a mandolin

Folks,

Quick queestion. I just bought a mandola and would like to tune it like my mandolin in GDAE. Question is, do I go up or down from the standard mandola tuning of CGDA> I tried going up first and snapped two of the G strings trying to get them up to D...so I assume I must go down, but wanted top check. I am new to this and not sure is there are some "tricks or tips" that I should be using......anybody?

Thanks in advance,

Mike
    Lyon & Healy 1918 Style C #940
    Eastman 804D Oval Hole Two Point #0110(2)
    Fender FM52SE A-Style w/f-holes #04020132

My art may be seen at www.wmferg.com

I think what you really want is an octave mandolin, tuned GDAE an octave below the standard mandolin. The mandola is tuned CGDA, as you state. You can put mandolin strings on it and tune it like a mandolin, but what's the use? You just get a large mandolin with a stiffer top that's playing in a register for which it wasn't designed. It probably won't sound all that much different from your mandolin. If you put heavier strings on it, and tune it an octave below your mandolin (GDAE), you'll get a small-bodied octave mandolin that probably won't sound so special, either. Don't know what type of instrument you bought, but it will probably give you the most satisfaction if you string it in the range for which it was designed. You do have to do a lot of transposition to apply what you know of the mandolin, to the mandola, but once you get the hang of it, it's a great instrument in its own CGDA tuning.
    Allen Hopkins
    Gibsn: '54 F5 3pt F2 A-N Custm K1 m'cello
    Natl Triolian Dobro mando
    Victoria b-back Merrill alumnm b-back
    H-O mandolinetto
    Stradolin Vega banjolin
    Sobell'dola Washburn b-back'dola
    Eastmn: 615'dola 805 m'cello
    Flatiron 3K OM

it's already tuned just like your mandolin - just with the low C