Thread: Sharp back pain from mandolin playing

I've been playing mandolin for about 4 yrs now. Early on, I used to get pain in my left wrist. I fixed this by getting a much better mandolin - problem gone!

Lately, however, I've been experiencing much worse pain. In the past 6 wks or so, I've felt like I have an ICE PICK sticking in my spine, high up, between the shoulder blades. I've been going to a deep massage therapist and getting some relief. However, it seems to be the result of playing mandolin - after every practice session, the pain is WAY worse. If I don't play for a day, the pain seems to lessen - until I'm inevitably drawn back to playing.

Anyone here had this kind of pain problem? AND, if yes, how did you solve it?!? I really do NOT want to be forced to give up playing mandolin - YIKES!

Any helpful advice greatly appreciated!

I've never had the back problem from playing mandolin but it sounds like a similar problem I had a few years back that I finally attributed to talking on the phone (holding the phone between my shoulder and ear) and typing on the computer at the same time. I fixed that by changing the ergonomics and using a headset for the phone. This might be something as simple as lowering or raising your strap (if you're standing up). You should also visit your doctor as it may be something serious.

"It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

It might help if you don't sleep on your mandolin...

Try guitar.
    ntriesch