Thread: Need advice on new instrument...

Hey gang. I've only been playing the mandolin for a year (I'm a keyboard player by trade). I won a gift certificate from a music store and on a lark got a Fender electric, just because my dad used to play the mandolin. After that I bought a few more student instruments so that I could experiment with alternate tunings without having to retune every time.

I've gotten to the point technically where I like playing arrangements of Bach: the Prelude from the first Cello Suite, for instance (transposed to D). My issue is that I have large hands, and a piece like the prelude makes use of incessant double and triple stops. I keep damping strings that I don't want to damp regardless of how square I play to the fingerboard.

I'm sure some some of it has to do with my technique (or lack thereof), but I'm also convinced that if I had just a millimeter more distance between the courses, I could play much more cleanly.

Here's my question: do classical mandolinists use instruments that have wider fingerboards like classical guitarists, and if so, are they readily available or do they have to be custom-made?

Any wisdom would be appreciated.

Cheers, John.

You may not want to hear this, John, but some classical mandolins have exceedingly narrow boards. Roman-style Embergher instruments are only about 24-25mm wide at the nut (that works out to less than an inch).

This is not universal. The Neapolitan mandolins are considerably wider, though whther a couple mm equates to "considerably" is not a subject I'd care to debate.

I'm not familiar with the Fender mandolins, so I can't speak to inter-course distances. Ahem. You may have to go to a more guitar-like chording method to get the double-stops, though I've been able to play the prelude without too much difficulty in that regard. (I believe it is harder on my audiences than on my fingers, but Herr Bach is in no position to criticise).