Page 1 of 12 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Standard notation vs tab

I just started playing the mandolin but I have been playing the flute for a few years and I know standard notation pretty good. So should I stick with standard notation and learn to apply it to the mandolin or would it be better to use tab? Tab seems pretty straight forward while applying standard notation is going to have quite a learning curve I can tell.

John McGann, Associate Professor, Berklee College of Music
    johnmcgann.com
    myspace page
    Youtube live mando

Blog Entries

I think you will find standard notation on the mandolin will be fairly easy to pick up. Get a beginners violin book or something (I used a beginners banjo book), and you should have little problem. Your background in reading music on the flute will easily move to mandolin.

The main advantage is that with standard notation, you will never be limited to music written for mandolin.

All the fiddle tune repertoire, sheet music for piano, vocal music, even some of your flute music, all the music in the world actually, what ever it is written for, will be yours for the reading. You can rip fun music from anywhere and adapt it to your instrument.

You can always learn tab later if you want. But you will never be sorry you learned to read standard notation on the mandolin.

What was much harder for me in moving from woodwind to mandolin, (clarinet and bassoon in my case) was getting past playing one note at a time melodies. Harmonies, double stops, chords, chord melodies, all of that was really uphill for me.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

Quote Originally Posted by (jmcgann @ Oct. 03 2007, 14:55)
    Thanks for those links. They were very helpful.

Quote Originally Posted by (JeffD @ Oct. 03 2007, 14:57)