Thread: Mandolin tuning problem

Can anybody tell me why my mandolin won't stay in tune the further up the neck I go? This problem just started here recently (after I changed the strings). I can start with the mandolin "in tune," according to the intellitouch tuner, but by about the fourth fret, the notes start getting sharp or flat. I would appreciate any advice on this. Thank you. (I'm using D'Addario J-74 strings on a 10-month old Gibson, in case that bit of info helps.) Also, I'm kind of new at this . . . should each note be in tune all the way up? in other words, on the 12th fret on the D string, shouldn't that still be an in-tune D? Or is that too much to expect?
    Kim Roulias

Almost definitely a bridge problem. The only other causes could be out of place frets - unheard of on a Gibson,or a heck of a high action,causing unwanted stretching of the strings when fretted,but your fingers would be shredded if that was the case.
    Using your tuner,play all the strings open (not pressed down)& make sure that they are in tune as close as you can get them. THEN - press each pair of strings down in turn at the 12th fret position & check the tuning again. If the bridge is in the correct position,then your tuner 'needle' will be exact centre,or very close to it.
    If the tuner shows the needle way off to the right,then the strings are 'sharp'