Thread: Fret height

Hi,
    I am new to the mando and am playing a Washburn Jethro Burns model. I have a question. It seems to me the the frets are two tall. When I do slides up and down the neck it does not feel smooth. The frets really hinder the slide. Are the frets on better mandolin's lower allowing a smoother slide! Can frets be shaved to make them not protrude above the fretboard and if they can would it be worth it (cost wise) on this mando.

Thanks in advance for and info and thanks for all of the good info that I have gleaned from this website.

Kelvin

Hi Kelvin,

Sounds like you need a fret dressing. Often times newer mandolins especially Gibsons and Import models need to have their frets addressed right off the bat. I bought an F9 a few/five years back and right away it needed to have the frets milled down and dressed. Things were a lot better after that, no more hanging off the side of the board etc. My luthier/repairman/friend always tells me that no matter what factory instrument you get it probably needs a setup right away. All of the custom builders tend address these issues before the mandolins leave their shop. Gibson sites changes in humidity. They believe that in the two day time it takes for a mandolin to get from Nashville to New York makes the bridge not fit the top anymore and the fret board to have a roller coaster affect. Don't get me wrong Gibson's are great instruments, just when there used to be tons of dealers around here the initial setup of them was terrible. Once setup they play and sound great.

Import models are even messier sometimes. Although sometimes they're better too. Now the Jethro Burns model is almost identical to the Fender F model (of which I owned many years back). I recall the frets being terrible on that instrument. You'd do well by getting a good setup and possibly dressing the frets. Good luck.

Philip Halcomb

Sounds to me like the frets are poorly crowned.