Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Pinky on the pickguard

Hey All, I've been teaching myself to play with the "Hal Leonard Mandolin Method Book" by Rich DelGrosso. He says to "Brace your hand against the mandolin top with your wrist resting on the bridge and your little finger supporting the weight of your hand on the pickguard" The thing is, I've never seen another player do this...ever. Not even in photographs. I'm a bit confused, can anyone shed some light?

Bruce68

I'll chime in, although I'm no expert...

I'd assume that most people will say that when starting it's best to learn without depending on any sort of "crutches" as possible. Technically speaking anchoring a finger, or anything anywhere for that matter will somewhat limit your movement. I often will "brush" my fingers on the pick guard, & often find the heel of my palm slightly anchored behind the bridge, but never do I purposely anchor a finger on the pickguard.

That being said, there are many many different right hand techniques. Just look at Monroe (somewhat tight fist), McCoury (loose fist), O'Brien (VERY open hand). So there is no "Right way" out there, just what ever you are comfortable with, & whatever isn't going to handicap you down the road once you become more technically advanced...

Glad to hear your playing the mado! First, you have to figure out if you like plaing with your fingers out or fingers in. Resting your pinky will limit your playing, I wouldn't get in the habbit of doing that. You shouldn't really focus on anchoring your picking hand anywhere. I let my wrist bones brush the strings behind the bridge and thats about it. This way, you can go from struming 3-4 strings to picking a line on one string. You cant so that while anchoring your pinky... Good luck!

I'll second what Dan said above, and add that by not anchoring anywhere you'll improve your tone. And you'll be free to move your right hand towards and away from the bridge to get a wider range of sounds.