Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: $3000-5000 mandolin?

I have been playing an Eastman 815 for a couple of years now and would like to upgrade. Any advice for what kind of mandolin to go with in term of bang for the buck. I prefer those with an old woody tone. I tried a friends Heiden the other day and it knocked my socks off, but it is obviously beyond the price range described above....

perhaps a daley, or a gibson there are so many choices

<I prefer those with an old woody tone.>

I'd suggest an Old Woody mandolin.

Have you considered having one made? There are many good builders out there that could build you one within your range. To name just a few Condino, Newell, Dean.

No finanancial interest here...Just a thought to another direction you can be looking.
    MLT
    Oregon Mandolin Orchestra
    Classical Mandolin Society of America
    Labraid Cytole

Blog Entries

That is a very healthy range - you have a lot of excellent choices.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

Look at BRW, for around 4k you cannot beat his stuff, very loud responsive, even dare I say old and woody. The build is spot on too.
    PJ
    Stanley V5

I love my Silver Angel. Should be able to find one in your price range and I bet you'd like the tone.

If you can't learn to do something well, learn to enjoy doing it poorly.

Another vote for BRW. #In that price range you should be able to find a good used one, or even have Ben build one for you. As I also have an Eastman 815, I can tell you the difference between it and my BRW is not representative of the difference in price. New, my 815 was $1600 and my BRW about $3800. There is much more than $2200 difference in the two mandolins. BRW is one of the best values out there.

NoNickel

Duff F5 #196/15
    Plays the "Irv Pearman" Signature Set

All misspellings intentional. Even thsi one.

Joe,