Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: One pick?

I have been useing one pick that got I got from Greg Boyd over three years ago. I have tried others, but this one does it for me. Who else has been useing one pick on the same mandolin ?

Is this a need for approval?, [or boredom]

I stick one pick under the strings when I'm not holding it in my hand, and Use it repeatedly with that mandolin.
    I have some of the same ('dawg') picks that I got 20 + years ago, some others I've had for 40.
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

I've been using my Bluechip pick for almost 4 months now, and that's a big deal for me considering that I constantly change picks.

I'm with mandroid - one pick under the strings when it's not in my hand. Currently it's a Wegen TF-140. It's definitely my favorite pick and produces the best tone of all that I've tried, however I've wanted to try a Wegen Trimus 250. I used to like the 1 mm picks, and now 1.4 isn't think enough.
    '08 Weber Fern 'Old Wood' Red Spruce

Blog Entries

I have a bowl on my bookshelf where I keep them. #I have a collection of Dawg, Dawg II, Proplecs, Golden Gates, Dunlops, Martin Heavy/Meds, and some Wegens. #Different mandos/strings seem to like different pics.

Jamie

EDIT: In my experience, pics are the cheapest way to change your tone (aside from attack technique which is free after lessons ).

There are two things to aim at in life: first, to get what you want; and, after that, to enjoy it. Only the wisest of mankind achieve the second. Logan Pearsall Smith, 1865 - 1946

+ Give Blood, Save a Life +

Tone Monster: Ive been doing the same thing! I got a Ivoroid rounded pick from Greg Boyd and have used it for Mandolin and Guitar for over 3 years. I just ordered some V-Picks out of total impulse so we will see how they stack up.
    "Because of you I close my eyes each time I yodel"