Thread: Thomastik-infeld strings

Anybody out there used the Thomastik-infeld Mandolin strings? Flatwound, sounds interesting, but $40 a set? Or used any other flat-wound string?

Just curious. Don't want to get another which string thread going, but curious specifically about these and other flatwound strings.

I just started using them early this year after buying a used Collings MT which came strung with the T-I's. First, let me say that I'm not a working musician and only play as a hobby, maybe 6 or 8 hours a week and once in a while I go to a festival and jam a good bit. Anyway, what I liked about the T-I strings was the soft, comfortable feel and the really warm tone they produce. What I didn't like was the lower volume as compared to the D'Addario J-74's that I have used for a long time, so I took the T-I's off the MT and replaced them with the J-74's. Well, guess what? I really missed that warm tone and soft feel, so I bought a new set of T-I's and put them on. I have other mandolins which are strung with J-74's and satisfy my need for that great powerful sound that they help to produce, so I will leave the T-I's on the MT. I've noticed that the T-I's have not tarnished at all yet(since March 1), and they still sound as good as when first installed. I paid about $32 for the set(Elderly Instruments), which is at least 5 times the cost of the J-74's. Will they last 5 times longer? It looks like that could be the case, but I'll need to give it more time to see. I'm sure you'll get some more replies to your inquiry. Just thought I'd let you know how I feel about the T-I's, so far.

You may want to check out La Bella flatwounds, they're cheaper than TIs, and you still get a wound A string (on some).

Also, JazzMando flatwounds are good too. They are made by La Bella, and I think they are like $15.25 from JazzMando

Blog Entries