Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: "planting"

Default "planting"

Hey everybody, I've been playing for a few years now and have come across some conflicting advice on "planting" (your right pickey to keep your hand in place) I've come across some pickers who swear by and others who dismiss it.
    Any advice/opions from you esteemed experts?

Blog Entries

Default Re: "planting"

Can of worms.

And everyone is right. Not to say that there isn't a right way to play the mandolin. Just that this particular choice, to plant or not to plant, has as many vehament adherents as scolding detractors.

I plant and brush for some playing and I fly free of planting, not even brushing the top of the bridge with the heel of my palm, for other playing. It all depends on the phrase I am playing.

There are lots of threads on the topic that you can search.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

This will likely generate lots of response but I think that, when all is said and done, you'll wind up right where you're at now. No one can say what the best technique is for you. The general consensus among teachers is not to do it because it impedes the free motion of your hand/wrist, but some very great players do and it works for them. If you really look closely at mandolinists you'll see all kinds of varying right hand positions.

some people need to plant - their hand needs that stable reference point to pivot from. once you learn that - ie, you have been playing that way since day 1, then you will never break the habit. there are plenty of GREAT players who plant, so...