Thread: Advanced Mandolin, hand made F-5 style on Ebay

Default Advanced Mandolin, hand made F-5 style on Ebay

Anyone have experience or comments on this?
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...fvi%3D1&_rdc=1

Looks like a great deal. What am I missing? I'm no mando expert.....
    Last edited by guitarpicker; Apr-22-2010 at 7:20am. Reason: bad link

Blog Entries

Default Re: Advanced Mandolin, hand made F-5 style on Ebay

Yeah guitarpicker I have looked at these mando's myself and wondered if I was missing out on a terrific deal. These mando's don't have any name on the headstock (which doesn't bother me at all) but never the less they look like a pretty welll made F5. (for a ebay mando they look almost too perfect for me) If the sound is anything like the looks then it might be a pretty nice mando at a really good deal. I wish someone on the cafe had already purchased one and had a little info on them. I bought my handmade 'Jones" a mth or 2 ago so i'm not in the market for another mando but if something happens (like the lotto or something else) I may venture out and buy 1. (oh) comes with a sharp looking case as well...

Blog Entries

Hi and welcome to the Café. I have trouble seeing how this particular instruiment is modeled on Sam's famous mandolin (I linked to the current Gibson Sam Bush model. Sam's has a more chopped fingerboard extension and block inlays on the fingerboard instead of dots.

With a starting (and seemingly ending) bid of $378 I wouldn't expect sound like Sam's espescially when the builder/manufacturer is completely unkown. It might be just fine but then again it might not. I would take chances on an unplayed instrument from a company with a reputation before an unknown qualitiy like this.