Thread: Loar Neck Set

Default Loar Neck Set

Hello,

This is my first post on the forum. I am a violinmaker by trade, but the main instrument I play is the mandolin. After dealing with my sub-par mandolin for too long, I have decided to make one for myself. I am going to make an F-5. There are a few places where I don't know how to proceed.

I have the F-5 mandolin plans from elderly instruments which I am working from. It says that the "top surface of the neck is shifted approx. 1/32'' toward body scroll, producing an asymmetrical heel joint. Centerline of the fingerboard typically intersects the the body centerline between the points of the 'ff' holes."
    It also says that the "lateral centerline between the 'ff' holes is slightly oblique to body centerline, positioning one 'ff' hole slightly closer to the neck joint."

Do you set your necks this way?

The dovetail neck joint on a mandolin is already more complicated than the violin necks I am used to, but if this is the way to do it I want to do it right.

Thanks very much for your help.

Michael Doran
    www.doranviolins.com

Default Re: Loar Neck Set

Quote Originally Posted by toabetterworld View Post

Hi Michael...

Welcome to the Cafe....

OK, it's my impression that not that many folks are anal enough to do it this way...
    That's my impression from looking at the finished instruments, and I could be (and often am), wrong....

That being said, I think it's one of the more important "tells" to getting the F5 design "right"...

You might want to spend a day (ha ha) and read this thread....

Lots of good info in there on the Loar details....

Here's a pic of that offset dovetail:

This is obviously off an F4, but you get the idea....

Luck!