Thread: Anybody tried this one

Default Anybody tried this one

http://www.brindleysmusic.com/p-1602...tic-inlay.aspx

Just wondering. Or what's the best deal on a zouk other than this one?

Default Re: Anybody tried this one

this is made by Luna Guitars... a company that was started by a woman to make guitars that are slightly smaller bodied and lighter weight (particularly the electrics), and decorated, so as to appeal to women players. I just checked out their website, and they seem to be expanding their line of instruments to include a couple of models of mandolins (an a and an f), banjos, and this bouzouki.

I played a couple of their guitars in a shop a year or so ago and found them to be ok. Not great, but ok. I'll qualify that by saying that it is likely that the ones I played were on their low end, and had "select" spruce rather than solid spruce tops. It looks like they've added quite a lot of solid wood guitars, that seem reasonably well appointed. I have no experience with their bouzouki... but I'd love to hear if someone else does. I do like the trinity soundhole design (they have it on a line of guitars too).
    Karen Escovitz
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Otter OM #1
    Brian Dean OM #32
    Old Wave Mandola #372
    Phoenix Neoclassical #256
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    If you're gonna walk on thin ice, you might as well dance!

Actually the Luna story is a bit suspect, although it's a nice marketing ploy. It's owned by the same people that own Dean Guitars. They are in the same building, they have the same corporate headquarters, and common ownership. I did some real research on these folks a few weeks ago because I was looking at one of their instruments. It's marketing at it's finest.

I think that Trinity soundhole would be a problem if you wanted to install a pickup down the line and I question the wisdom of using the word "Trinity" in the model name given their primary price point competition in bouzoukis. It looks pretty nice.
    Steve